Subscribe to the forum by e-mail
E-mail address:

::General discussion front page
::Post new message

This is a general discussion forum about petanque. All issues may be discussed here.

Who is considered the best?

Posted by: Eric Breib) at 2007-08-05 18:58:32
Posting has been displayed 4098 times

Aug/5/2007
Greetings,
Who, in Petanque/Boule communities, is considered the best player? Is he/she still living and competing?

I'm a complete novice, but I'd like to know if this sport keeps track of players, teams, etc., that are raising the bar sotospeak.

Lastly, if applicable, what technique(s) did this person use to catapult himself/herself to their calibre of play in Petanque? Was it one specific move, or a plethora of skills that made them win that big match?

regards,
Eric Breiby

Posted by: Jeff Widen) at 2007-08-06 15:38:29
Posting has been displayed 19236 times

Are you talking about the World's best or in a specific country?

There are a number of major tournaments around the world which determine top players, but these rankings can be a bit "gray" because the tournaments are doublettes and triplettes.

Mainly, there are two main events:

Annual World Championship of Petanque (Championnat du Monde Petanque) which is in it's 43rd year - and will be staged in Thailand on September 18, and in Senegal next year (2008):

http://www.pattaya-petanque2007.com/eng/

Then there's the Petanque Masters (Masters de Petanque) - which has top teams competing in various locations around France. This triplette event includes qualifying teams only:

http://www.quarterback.fr/petanque/

Probably the best way to get a feel for the top players is to see the qualifying heirarchy from the Petanque Masters:

Henri Lacroix
Philippe Quintais
Pascal Milei
Jean Marc "Marco" Foyot
Philippe Suchaud
Dylan Rocher
Zvonko Radnic
Richard Bettoni
Stephane Dath
Bruno Leboursicaud
Thierry Figueres
Sebastian Rousseau
Christian Fazzino
Michel Loy
Bruno Rocher