Subscribe to the forum by e-mail
E-mail address:

::Rules of petanque front page
::Post new message

Country:International

Share your thoughts with the world about the rules, how they are interpreted and how you interpret them.
The official rules are online here

I don't like this rule...

Posted by: Dave Smith) at 2013-01-30 09:40:45
Posting has been displayed 711 times

When a teams boule is equidistant from their opponents boule, the team that threw last should play again. If still no change after the next boule has been thrown, then teams alternate until there is... like bowls.

Why cant't it be, that the team who threw last, keep playing until they beat their opponents holding boule... makes more sense to me and a lot simpler.

I don't like this rule...

Posted by: Raymond AGER) at 2013-01-30 10:56:24
Posting has been displayed 555 times

Interesting... there's a certain logic to what you say and it would be more in keeping with normal play, i.e. you keep playing until you beat the opponent's boule.

However, I suspect the problem is, "that's the way we've always done it!" - very difficult to change.

Good luck.

Regards.

I don't like this rule...

Posted by: Dave Smith) at 2013-01-30 13:26:43
Posting has been displayed 2105 times

Thanks for your input Ray.

I think it was you that said (something along the lines of), an update of the rules is long overdue. Perhaps we could have a suggestion box for rule amendments?

How is your French coming along?


::Rules of petanque front page
::Post new message

Petanque.org

The world wide petanque and boule community, by and for users.

Tweets by @PetanqueOrg Tweets about "petanque"