Subscribe to the forum by e-mail
E-mail address:

::Rules of petanque front page
::Post new message

Country:International

Share your thoughts with the world about the rules, how they are interpreted and how you interpret them.
The official rules are online here

not quite clear about the dead boule rules

Posted by: Peter MacF) at 2014-05-04 05:10:15
Posting has been displayed 241 times

Greetings to all....

Could someone explain the dead boule rules? My understanding of this aspect of the game is a bit murky.

1) If you throw a boule and it hits the side of the court, the boule is out of play, and whatever it moved on its way is put back to the way it was before your shot, yes?

2) If someone knocks one of your boules into the wall, is it also dead? In this case do you also have to put things back to the way they were before?

3) If the cochon hits the wall, is it dead as well?

Many thanks for your help.

PM

not quite clear about the dead boule rules

Posted by: GARY JONES) at 2014-05-12 07:33:19
Posting has been displayed 115 times

1) The preferred way of setting up a court is to have string lines just inside (maybe 30cm) the sideboards so that a boule must completely cross the string line to be dead-- whether or not it actually touches the sideboards. Many people, however, set up their courts with sideboards but no string lines. In such a case, a boule that touches the sideboards is dead. The one exception is that if the position of a boule on the court is marked, via a scratched mark on the ground, and it is moved BY A DEAD BOULE THAT HAS REBOUNDED OFF THE SIDEBOARDS (directly or by chain-reaction), it can be respotted to its marked position.

2) Yes, if it is a LIVE boule that knocks your boule into the sideboard; or, if a DEAD boule rebounds and knocks your boule into the sideboard (directly or by chain-reaction) AND you had neglected to mark the position of your boule on the court. Remember, you cannot replace a boule unless you have a mark that shows you where to replace it!

3) Yes, if it is a LIVE boule that knocks your cochon into the sideboard; or, if DEAD boule rebounds and knocks your cochon (directly or by chain- reaction) into the sideboard AND you had neglected to mark the position of the cochon on the court.

not quite clear about the dead boule rules

Posted by: Peter MacF) at 2014-05-12 08:09:54
Posting has been displayed 594 times

Thanks, Gary.........PM


::Rules of petanque front page
::Post new message

Petanque.org

The world wide petanque and boule community, by and for users.

Tweets by @PetanqueOrg Tweets about "petanque"