Q. Team ëAí throw the cochonnet to about 9.5 metres. They then throw their first boule that knocks the cochonnet on to about 11 metres from the circle. Team ëBí claim that the cochonnet is over 10 metres and therefore invalid. Are they correct?
blog comments powered by Disqus
A. Yes, because the umpire will measure the distance from the cochonnet to the nearest edge of the circle (article 7) and on this occasion the distance is over 10 metres.
However, there is a way to prevent this sort of disagreement.
If team ëAí had marked the position of the cochonnet before they threw their first boule the umpire would have been able to measure from the mark to the nearest edge of the circle confirming that it had been valid before being moved by the first thrown boule.
This ruling was discussed and agreed by members of the FIPJP's Technical Committee at the World Championships in Germany 1996.
We have done some redesigning here, and things are starting to look a bit more like 2013. The last change was back in 2005, and that was our 5th redesign. So here we are in the middle of our 6th change since 1996.
FInally there is a petanque-app for the android-users out there. And it is free. The perfect xmas-present perhaps?
We have set up a system that will publish 2 new postcards to twitter every day from petanque.org. It will not work forever of course, in only 2,5 years we will start with re-runs of cards we have already previously published on Twitter . We do have a lot of petanque-postcards here.
We have a very nice collection of postcards here on petanque.org, and all of them are about petanque of course. Currently we have more than 1750 postcards available for your enjoyment.
The world wide petanque and boule community, by and for users.